du 9 juillet 2020 au 10 juillet 2020
Publié le 11 février 2021 Mis à jour le 8 février 2022

Theoretical and Mathematical Physics in Cergy Paris, Singapore, and Warwick

photo
photo

Organisers: R.A. Römer (Warwick), A. Honecker (CY Cergy-Paris)

Rudolf Römer is professor in the Physics Department of the University of Warwick, UK, and associated with Warwick’s Centre for Scientific Computing (CSC) which he led 2005-10. He is currently fellow-in-residence at CY|AS, invited by laboratory LPTM.

Andreas Honecker is professor at the Laboratoire de Physique Théorique et Modélisation (LPTM) of the CY Cergy Paris Université.

Background and Purpose

Theoretical and mathematical physicists at Cergy, Singapore and Warwick have many common research interests, for example mathematical and computational methods, artificial intelligence, quantum physics in all its manifestations, etc., and potential for future projects for collaboration. In order to communicate these better to each other, we want to meet virtually for a 2-half-day workshop with selected presentations.

Researchers are free to present in-progress projects, talk about completed papers or give overview talks of their research interest. Similarly, PhD and MSc level students are encouraged to present their work, either as a talk or as a virtual poster.

Kindly submit your abstract by Friday 3rd July 2020, 4 p.m. CEST the latest.

Participants

Participation is by invitation only for colleagues from outside the participating universities. Please contact an organizer if you think this workshop looks as if it would be of interest to you. Normally, we would be happy to accept self-invitations.

Dates: 9th and 10th July 2020

The symposium will start at 10:00 a.m. CEST Paris (9:00 a.m. UK time and 04:00 p.m. Singapore time) on Thursday, July 9th, 2020, via ZOOM hosted at CY Advanced Studies. We end each day at 01:30 p.m. CEST Paris (12:30 p.m. UK time and 07:30 p.m. Singapore time)

Download the updated Programme and the list of Abstracts.
 

Posters:

Djenabou Bayo, Machine Learning the Anderson and the Percolation Transitions
Burak Civitcioglou, Machine Learning and Phases of the Ising model using transfer learning methods 
Yérali Gandica, Bali ancient rice terraces: A Hamiltonian approach
Nyayabanta Swain, Complex magnetic ordering and associated topological Hall effect in two-dimensional metallic chiral magnets
Hendrik Schawe, When open mindedness hinders consensus
Javad Vahediaghmashhadi, Magnetism of magic-angle twisted bilayer graphene

Contact:

  • Francesca Rondina (Conference secretary) : francesca.rondina@cyu.fr